G-Eazy “Mercedes Benz (The American Dream)”

 |  September 28, 2011
8,534
0

G-Eazy brings Janis Joplin to 2011.

I was digging through my mom’s record collection and stumbled upon Janis Joplin’s ‘Pearl’ record. I had heard “Mercedes Benz” before, but it had been a few years. It was one of those moments where I instantly jumped up, and decided it would be a dope song to flip. The concept is so relatable, and the passion is so present in her voice. The original is an acapella, so I wrote some chords and called my homie John Michael over to lay down some acoustic guitar parts down behind her vocal. I’m stoked on how it came out.”

.
G-Eazy “Mercedes Benz” (The American Dream) ft. Janis Joplin by RuddyRock
Download

mercedes-benz-art

You can also catch G-Eazy on tour with Shwayze & Mod Sun.  No one consulted me on calling it the Casual Sex tour but they should have.

Tue, Nov 1 Boston, MA @ Middle East
Wed, Nov 2 Washington DC @ Rock n Roll Hotel
Fri, Nov 4 Columbus, OH @ The Mansion
Tue, Nov 8 Chicago, IL @ Reggie’s Rock Club
Thu, Nov 10 Iowa City, IA @ Blue Moose Tap House
Wed, Nov 16 Fort Collins, CO @ Aggie Theatre
Thu, Nov 17 Colorado Springs, CO @ Black Sheep
Fri, Nov 18 Denver, CO @ Cervantes’ Masterpiece Ballroom
Tue, Nov 22 San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Wed, Nov 23 West Hollywood, CA @ The Roxy Theatre
Fri, Nov 25 San Diego, CA @ SOMA