1/18 “New Music Friday”

5 years ago view-show 637,659

Featuring Future, James Blake, YNW Melly, and Chief Keef.

Welcome to this week’s installment of “New Music Friday”. 2019 has gotten off to an exciting start with last week’s releases from Big K.R.I.T., Comethazine, and the joint project courtesy of Robb Bank$ and Wifisfuneral. Today, January 18th, the momentum continues on the backs of Future, James Blake, YNW Melly, and Chief Keef.

Starting his 2019 campaign on an exciting note, Future has come through with his 20-track album, The WIZRD. Doused in outsized hype, given Future’s otherworldly celebrity status, Hndrxx’s seventh studio album is his first official studio LP since his artistically-uncompromising Hndrxx, released in February 2017. The WIZRD is largely a featureless effort–save for tracks with Travis Scott, Young Thug, and Gunna–allowing Future to reacquaint himself with fans in a full album capacity.

James Blake’s Assume Form, his fourth studio LP in eight-years, continues Blake’s intrepid pursuit of merging varying genres and subgenres to yield an amorphous sound–a transcendent one fueled by creativity, vision. A longtime friend of the hip-hop community, Blake’s Assume Form features Travis Scott, Metro Boomin (on two tracks; one with Travis), and André 3000.

YNW Melly has come through with his second mixtape, We All Shine; one track, “Mixed Personalities” features Kanye West.

Chief Keef continues being one of the most consistent musical purveyors with his latest release, The Leek 7.

Listen to all of today’s new music below: