3/20 “New Music Friday”

4 years ago view-show 5,940

The Weeknd’s After Hours has arrived.

Stuck in quarantine? Starting to “feel” the isolation? Don’t sweat — iHipHop’s got you covered with a brand new edition of “New Music Friday” to keep you sane and entertained. This week’s spotlight belongs to the long-awaited new The Weeknd album, After Hours, and also features the likes of Mac Miller, Sada Baby, Guapdad 4000, and Jpegmafia.

It’s been four-years since The Weeknd dropped his Grammy Award-winning album, Starboy. Today, Abel answers fans’ clamors for his return by releasing the highly-anticipated After Hours, his fourth studio album.

Anchored by singles “After Hours,” “Blinding Lights,” and “Heartless,” plus the live rendition he performed of “Scared To Live” on Saturday Night Live (March 7th), The Weeknd’s latest journey is one dualistically wrapped in melancholy and hype: The lyrical content shows an introspective Abel reflecting on past loves and emotional pain; this vulnerable writing is offset by the blend of trap-soul-styled production; producers include Metro Boomin, Max Martin, The Weeknd himself, and plenty more.

After Hours comes in at 14-tracks, spanning 56-minutes of an emotional departure from our humdrum surroundings — a peek into the complicated, beautiful mind of Abel Tesfaye.

Following The Weeknd is the late Mac Miller, whose estate has released the deluxe version of his first posthumous album, Circles (Deluxe). The amended version features two additional tracks: “Right” and “Floating,” making for a 14-track album. Mac is credited on both tracks as a producer, with additional support from Vic Wainstein for the former and Jon Brion (album’s EP) and Alexander Spi for the latter.

The Detroit legend, Sada Baby, has also come through with a new album in Skuba Sada 2 (Deluxe). This deluxe edition features an amalgamation of recent loosies released from the unique rapper. Fellow midwest MC King Von and Trap Manny possess the lone features on the 11-track project.

Guapdad 4000 and Jpegmafia have also released singles, with the former dropping two singles (“Platinum Falcon” and “Greedy”) and the latter delivering “Covered In Money!”. 

We’re going to get through coronavirus and this quarantine together — and with a little help from some talented artists.

Listen to all of the new drops below: