5/24 “New Music Friday”

5 years ago view-show 6,534

Featuring Moneybagg Yo, YG, Beast Coast, and more.

With Memorial Day Weekend fatefully on the horizon, what better way to ring in the long weekend than enjoying a surplus of new music? For today’s “New Music Friday,” we’ve got releases from Moneybagg Yo, YG, Ed Sheeran with Chance the Rapper and PnB Rock — oh yes, and the Beast Coast album is finally here.

Moneybagg Yo kicks off this week’s “New Music Friday” with his new project, 43VA HEARTLESS — the successor to his well-received 2018 project, RESET, which featured the J. Cole-assisted “Say Na.”

On 43VA HEARTLESS, Moneybagg Yo unleashes another impressive body of work, receiving help from a dope collection of featured artists: City Girls, Kevin Gates, Gunna, Offset, Lil Durk, and Blac Youngsta. It runs 14-tracks, 40-minutes.

YG’s anticipated fifth studio album, 4REAL 4REAL, fell victim to delays in the wake of the Cali rapper’s close friend and collaborator’s death, the dearly-departed Nipsey Hussle. Two individuals from different colors of the same cloth, YG and Nip were kindred spirits who found solace in each other’s rhetoric and actions. While we’ll all continue to mourn Nip’s tragic passing, YG feels the loss on a different level. However, in spite of this, or maybe because of this, he still managed to issue another strong body of work in 4REAL 4REAL.

Coming in at 14-tracks, 47-minutes, 4REAL 4REAL features previously-released singles “Go Loko” and “Stop Snitchin,” as well as guest verses from Tyga, Valee, Boogie, Meek Mill, Ty Dolla $ign, DaBaby, and more.

Speculation regarding the Beast Coast album, Escape From New York, began brewing when the Empire State supergroup performed at festivals together in 2013. While nothing materialized since then, the crew began steadily hinting at an ensemble album, dropping singles which eventually culminated in Joey Bada$$’s tweet regarding the album’s completion. Now, in 2019, we’ve finally received the fabled Beast Coast collab project.

Lastly, Ed Sheeran taps Chance and PnB Rock for his new single, “Cross Me.”

Listen to everything here: