5/8 Forever Cold❄️ Playlist

4 years ago view-show 6,336

Featuring Lil Durk, RMR, Lil Tjay, Chris Brown & Young Thug, and more.

It’s Friday, which not only means the weekend has arrived, but an influx of new music has flooded the internet. With so much to comb through, DJ Forever Cold is back applying an expert filter to present the most necessary songs to add to the rotation with the 5/8 edition of the Forever Cold❄️ playlist.

This week’s curation is a dynamic musical grouping, featuring heavy-hitters and promising upstarts. Headlining the 5/8 Forever Cold❄️ playlist are Chris Brown & Young Thug, Lil Durk, Lil Tjay, RMR, Kenny Muney, among others.

After they announced that a collaborative mixtape was in the works, Chris Brown and Young Thug delivered their joint Slime & B project this past Tuesday (May 5th). The Slime & B endeavor is a product of sonic contrasting, pinning Thug’s distinct, staple word- and syllable-warping style against Breezy’s traditional yet transcendent vocal prowess. The tape features Gunna, Lil Duke, Shad Da God, E-40, and more.

Next up, Lil Durk has come through with his highly-anticipated fifth studio album, Just Cause Y’all Waited 2. Anchored by a collection of standout singles, including the recently-dropped “3 Headed Goat” with Polo G and Lil Baby, Durk’s rabid fanbase has been champing at the bit waiting for its release. Today, that wait comes to a screeching halt; Just Cause Y’all Waited 2 has arrived.

Another promising artist intent on taking over the game, Lil Tjay has made a splash today with his new project, the aptly-titled State of Emergency. Embodying the fears of this uncertain COVID-riddled climate, which have acutely manifested in the close Big Apple quarters, Tjay’s new tape almost acts as a resurgence of New York power. Joining him on this seven-track EP is seemingly everyone worth talking about coming out of the Emprie State: Fivio Foreign, J.I The Prince of N.Y, Jay Critch, Jay Guwapo, Sheff G, Sleepy Hallow, and the late Pop Smoke.

Next up, the mysterious and captivating RMR gets an all-star assist on the official remix to his “DEALER” track from Future and Lil Baby. RMR is quickly rising the ranks, garnering attention for his enigmatic personality and brand and diverse talents.

Charting his own course towards the top, Kenny Muney, who’s signed to Young Dolph’s Paper Route Empire label, has offered his two cents on the omnipresent coronavirus pandemic with his new single, “Sick.” The new Kenny Muney track features a string-accented trap production — another signifier of his individualistic artistry.

Other artists to make this week’s Forever Cold❄️ are: A.CHAL, Roy Woods, Kehalni, Doe Boy, Quando Rondo, JPEGMAFIA, and Migos.

Check out our freshly-curated list below: