6/28 “New Music Friday”

4 years ago view-show 4,851

Oh, things are heating up.

The summer of “New Music Fridays” just keeps on getting better. Each week seems to outdo its predecessor, and this week is no different. Today, we have the highly-anticipated releases from Chris Brown, MadGibbs (Freddie Gibbs & Madlib), Mustard, Daniel Caesar, and J Balvin & Bad Bunny.

Kicking things off is Breezy with his loaded 32-track, 122-minute, ninth studio album, Indigo. Following the DJ Khaled mold, regarding the amount of features, Indigo welcomes an array of guest artists, including H.E.R., Lil Jon, Lil Wayne, G-Eazy, Tank, Trey Songz, and plenty more. Anchored by singles “Don’t Check On Me,” “No Guidance,” “Heat,” and “Need A Stack,” Indigo compounds the interest generated by these tracks with over two-hours of pure heat. 

Chris Brown will be taking Indigo on tour this summer, joined by Tory Lanez, Ty Dolla $ign, Yella Beezy, and Joyner Lucas.

Following C-Breezy is the compelling duo of Freddie Gibbs and Madlib, commonly known as MadGibbs, with their second collaborative LP, Bandana

The successor to their 2014-released Piñata, Bandana picks up right where the two legends left off: making incredible music. Freddie and Madlib possess a palpable chemistry that fully comes to life with the super producer’s superior production and the Gary, IN native’s heightened rhymes. Together, simply, they wax poetic.

Bandana is 15-tracks long, 46-minutes, and boasts features from Killer Mike, Pusha T, Yasin Bey (fka Mos Def), and Black Thought. 

Next up, Mustard comes through with his third studio album, Perfect Ten. Featuring some of today’s hottest names — including both A$AP Rocky & Ferg, Young Thug, Gunna, the late Nipsey Hussle, and plenty more — Perfect Ten comes in at an efficient 10 tracks, 32-minutes. 

Joining these host of transcendent artists are Daniel Caesar with CASE STUDY 01 and J Balvin & Bad Bunny on their collaborative effort, OASIS.

Listen to all of the releases below: