6/5 Forever Cold❄️ Playlist

4 years ago view-show 5,148

Featuring Run The Jewels, Sleepy Hallow, Tee Grizzley, and more.

The Black community is hurting right now. After another brutal display of police brutality, and the systemic racism that enables it, with the murder of George Floyd, people of color are angry, frustrated, and desperate to be heard, to be recognized as equals. As a result, multiple artists have delayed their planned June 5th releases to redirect attention to these pressing societal and civil rights issues, making today’s edition of the Forever Cold❄️ lighter than usual.

Some artists — like Conway, Meek Mill, Tee Grizzley, and YG — have taken this opportunity to release music that distills these emotional responses into impactful protest songs. Others have decided to use their music as an escape for listeners by going ahead with their scheduled releases. This week’s Forever Cold❄️ combines both of these categories, and is headlined by: Run The Jewels, Conway, Tee Grizzley, Sleepy Hallow, and Flatbush Zombies.

Taking an antithetical approach to those who’ve delayed their releases in honor of spotlighting these grave injustices, Run The Jewels decided to release their anticipated RTJ4 album two-days early to satiate their rabid fanbase. In classic RTJ fashion, the songs on this project speak to this dark political climate we’re in, broadcasting Killer Mike and El-P’s lauded viewpoints on the subject. The new LP follows their 2016 Run the Jewels 3. The songs “holy calamafuck” and “out of sight” featuring 2 Chainz have been added to this week’s list.

Following suit of responding to these transgressions with art, both Conway and Tee Grizzley released songs highlighting racial inequality by offering their unique perspectives. The former released “Front Lines” and the latter dropped “Mr. Officer” featuring Queen Naija, both of which have been made this week’s playlist. 

Next up, Brooklyn’s burgeoning Sleepy Hallow has responded in his own way by proposing a solution by way of his new album, Sleepy Hallow Presents: Sleepy Hallow For President. The 12-track project is anchored by his standout single, “Dead End Freestyle,” and features fellow New York rappers: Sheff G, Jay Critch, and Fivio Foreign. His track “Molly” with Sheff G has been added to this week’s list.

Staying in Brooklyn, Flatbush Zombies have released a new EP, now, more than ever. While it’s only six-tracks deep, it packs both a conceptual and sonic punch, as it’s a textured, layered offering that showcases the group’s lauded versatility. Both “herb” and “dirty elevator music” have made this list.

Other artists who made this week’s Forever Cold❄️ playlist are: Joey Trap, OLA RUNT, Lil Wayne, and Terrace Martin.

Listen to the 6/5 Forever Cold❄️ playlist below: