7/12 “New Music Friday”

5 years ago view-show 5,148

Featuring Big K.R.I.T., Lil Nas X, Nas, & Future.

Almost half-way through July, we’re deep in the midst of summer ‘19, and it’s been quite the season so far for new music. From Dreamville’s loaded Revenge of The Dreamers III to Freddie Gibbs and Madlib’s Bandana collab effort, the music influx has been reminiscent of the scorcher that was summer ‘16. Today’s “New Music Friday” perpetuates this heat with Big K.R.I.T.’s new album and singles from Lil Nas X, regular-sized Nas, and Future.

Kicking things off with a bang, K.R.I.T. comes through with his fourth studio album, K.R.I.T. Iz Here. The successor to his well-received 2017 album, 4eva Is a Mighty Long Time, K.R.I.T.’s new effort continues conveying his eclectic stylings and ability to attract a range of preeminent artists.

Among the decorated featured artists joining K.R.I.T. on K.R.I.T. Iz Here are Lil Wayne, Yella Beezy, and J. Cole. K.R.I.T. Iz Here comes in at 19-tracks, 56-minutes. 

While K.R.I.T. drops this week’s lone album, he’s far from the lone artist dropping new music. 

Lil Nas X has come through with the long-awaited Young Thug-assisted “Old Town Road (Remix),” which acts as a remix within a remix since it’s a spin on the Billy Ray Cyrus version. Oh, and it also features 2018 viral sensation, Mason Ramsay. 

The inspiration for his moniker has also dusted off the mic to come through with the first single from his upcoming The Lost Tapes 2 in “Jarreau of Rap (Skatt Attack)” featuring Keyon Harrold and Al Jarreau. The fifth compilation album from the legendary Nasty Nas, The Lost Tapes 2 is scheduled to drop next Friday, July 19th, and is a collection of b-sides from Nas’ last four studio album; it succeeds the 2002-released The Lost Tapes.

Last but not least, Future drops off his new single, “100 Shooters” featuring Meek Mill and Doe Boy.

Check out all of today’s releases below: