8/30 “New Music Friday”

5 years ago view-show 4,356

Featuring SiR, Lil Tecca, Common, Joell Ortiz, & Alchemist.

Summer’s transience has become cliché, but it still does feel a little surreal — Labor Day Weekend is already here. It seems like just yesterday that we toasted America’s anniversary. And yet here we are, saying goodbye to the months of warmness and saying hello to the impending winter. But summer’s not done — not yet. Today, we have a great slate of fresh releases for this week’s “New Music Friday.”

Today’s edition is headlined by SiR, Lil Tecca, Common, Joell Ortiz, and Alchemist.

Top Dawg Entertainment’s dynamic SiR kick things off with his third studio album, the ironically-titled Chasing Summer. Following his 2018 November, SiR’s new album endeavor is a 14-track offering that finds him further refining his smooth-textured aesthetic — one that lends itself to various collaborations. Joining SiR is a collection of standout artists, including: Kendrick, Smino, Lil Wayne, Jill Scott, and more.

Next up, it’s the rapidly-ascending teen sensation, Lil Tecca. At 17-years-old, the New York native isn’t having the typical adolescent experience — he’s a kid with outsized success. Predicated on his chart-topping hit, “Ransom,” Lil Tecca is now signed to Republic Records, who just released his debut project, We Love You Tecca. Coming in at 17-tracks, 41-minutes, We Love You Tecca is largely a featureless effort, save for the “Ransom” Remix with Juice WRLD.

Traveling to the MidWest, we’re met by the iconic Common, who’s come through with his 11th studio album, Let Love. Following, his 2016 project, Black America Again, the new Common experience is an 11-track effort that deepens Common’s emotional self, celebrating love. With a helping hand from Daniel Caesar, Swizz Beatz, BJ The Chicago Kid, Jill Scott, Leon Bridges, and more, Common delivers another sound addition to his library.

Joel Ortiz and Alchemist have also come forth with new projects, Monday and Yacht Rock 2, respectively.

Listen to all of the new releases below: