Beyonce, Whitney contribute to Daddy’s Little Girls Soundtrack

14 years ago view-show 573,012

By Quibian Salazar-Moreno

      Atlantic Records announced that they’ll be releasing the soundtrack to Tyler Perry’s anticipated film, Daddy’s Little Girls, on January 16. The soundtrack features news songs from Beyonce, R. Kelly, Brian McKnight and Anthony Hamilton. Also featured on the soundtrack is one of Whitney’s first songs since her split with Bobby Brown that features her mother Cissy Houston and her cousin Dionne Warwick.

      The film, which opens on February 14, stars Gabrielle Union, Idris Elba, Louis Gossett Jr., Tracee Ellis Ross and Malinda Williams. Elba plays a single father named Monty who lives in a poor neighborhood and struggles to make ends meet as he raises his three young daughters on his own.  When the courts award custody of his daughters to his corrupt, drug-dealing ex-wife, Monty desperately tries to win them back, enlisting the help of Julia (Union), an attorney he meets during his short stint as a chauffeur. Of course they fall in love, while trying to battle the trials and tribulations in keeping Monty’s family together.


























      Here’s the tracklisting for the soundtrack:


1. STRUGGLE NO MORE (THE MAIN EVENT) – Anthony Hamilton, Jaheim & Musiq Soulchild
2. DON’T LET GO – R. Kelly
3. GREATEST GIFT – Tamika Scott of X-Scape
4. BROWN EYED BLUES – Adrian Hood
5. FAMILY FIRST – Whitney Houston, Cissy Houston, Dionne Warwick and Family
6. STEP ASIDE – Yolanda Adams
7. I BELIEVE – Brian McKnight
8. DADDY – Beyoncé
9. STRUGGLE NO MORE – Anthony Hamilton
10. BLOOD SWEAT & TEARS – Governor 
11. A CHANGE IS GONNA COME – Charles Moore