Common, Kweli, Will.I.Am are ‘Freedom Writers’

14 years ago view-show 675,576

By Quibian Salazar-Moreno

      It may look like another movie where the white chick comes to the hood and saves the poor, miserable, and violent Black and Latino kids, but the soundtrack for Freedom Writers is looking mighty fresh. Although it features classic joints from Montell Jordan (“This is How We Do”), Pharcyde (“Passing Me By”) and Gang Starr (“Code of the Streets”), new songs from Common, Talib Kweli and Will.I.Am (of Black Eyed Peas) are also included. The Soundtrack will hit stores on January 9, with the film arriving in theatres on January 12.

      The film follows the true story of teacher Erin Gruwells (played by Hillary Swank) as she comes to the hood to teach at a local high school. She realizes the pain and struggles of the everyday lives of the urban teenager and teaches them how to express themselves through writing.


Here’s the track listing to the soundtrack:


1. Dream, A – Common – (featuring

2. It’s R Time – Jeannie Ortega

3. When The Shit Goes Down – Cypress Hill

4. Listen – Talib Kweli

5. Passing Me By – The Pharcyde

6. Hip Hop Hooray – Naughty By Nature

7. Keep Ya Head Up – 2Pac

8. Code Of The Streets – Gang Starr

9. Rebirth Of Cool – Digable Planets

10. This Is How We Do It – Montell Jordan

11. Officer – The Pharcyde

12. Change – Darrius Garrett

13. Colors –