December 7th “New Music Friday”

5 years ago view-show 434,115

Featuring releases from XXXtentacion, Gucci Mane, Yhung T.O., and Domo Genesis. 

An inherently joyous day thanks to the influx of new music, today, “New Music Friday”, should be an occasion replete with rejoicement. But we’d be remiss if we didn’t take a second to honor one of today’s contributors: the dearly-departed, XXXtentacion.

Perhaps the most polarizing artist of the past decade, X imparted a stark dichotomy into the musical ethos through his personal and artistic dynamism and dualism. His music was, and is, transcendent in its unabashed approached that scoffed at the accepted musical paradigm in favor of his avant garde-esque material that reveled in discussing difficult subject matter through an untraditional structure.

X’s last album, ?, received universal acclaim for the eclectic sonics employed, which facilitated his conceptual exploration of death, depression, isolation–almost acting as a self-fulfilling prophecy that predicted his tragic passing. His new album, the first posthumous release for the South Florida native, Skins, eerily expands upon these feelings in a direct and implicit manner, both through the subject matter and continued prediction of his mortality–almost akin to Notorious B.I.G. on Ready to Die.

Skins is largely a featureless effort–save for Kanye’s verse on “One Minute”, the album’s seventh track–that only spans 19-minutes in duration, but condenses the intricate emotional medley that plagued X throughout his short existence. Through condemning his actions that were inspired by his tortured past to furhtering his relatable narratives for those dealing with depression, Skins is a brave example of an artistically cathartic experience–one that will deepen the polarizing debate that will perpetually surround X’s name and reputation.

Joining XXXtentacion in today’s “New Music Friday” is Gucci Mane, who surprisingly just released his first 2018 project, Evil Genius. The antithesis to his conventional release strategy, one that hinges upon multiple drops within a year, Evil Genius can be perceived as a sign of artistic growth for one of trap’s most foundational figures as it shows Gucci dedicating all of his time, energy, and mental fortitude towards the greater good of producing one great project, rather than spreading himself too thinly.

Evil Genius is an 18-track effort that spans 50-minutes, and boasts a decorated tracklist: Lil Skies, Lil Pump, Bruno Mars, Kodak Black, Migos, Lil Yachty, Kevin Gates, Quavo, 21 Savage, and NBA YoungBoy are all featured. This deep and eclectic featured artist list is a testament to Gucci’s palpable impact and respect that he’s accrued throughout his storied career. Bruno Mars is one of the industry’s biggest pop-stars known for his endearing voice and killer dance moves; 21 Savage is hip-hop’s anti hero who finds peace in discussing darkness. Somehow, they both fit securely on Evil Genius. Gucci is both a pop icon and a trapper. His reach is as expansive as his catalogue.

Additionally, Ice Cube came through with his first album in 10-years, Everythang’s Corrupt; Yhung T.O., formerly of SOB x RBE, has begun his voyage into the solo realm with his project Trust Issues; Domo Genesis has come through with his new solo endeavor, Facade Records.

Check out all of today’s releases below: