Erykah Badu: “I’m Taking The Responsibility To Talk For My Race and My Planet.”

13 years ago view-show 692,703

By Quibian Salazar-Moreno

      The last project that Erykah Badu released was 2003’s “Worldwide Underground,” which really didn’t get much play. Now Ms. Badu is pulling out all the stops for her new album, “Nu AmErykah”, which is set to drop on February 26.

      "I named this album ‘Nu AmErykah’ because I’m dealing with whatever is to come instead of what was," Badu told Billboard. "In taking on a project like this, I’m taking the responsibility to talk for my race and my planet. I’m sure the record company will make their money and they’ve given me the blessing of time."

      The album will be an 18-track opus spread out over to CDs, and will be sold separately. The first single, “Honey,” was produced by 9th Wonder and is making its way up radio. Here’s the tracklist for “Nu AmErykah.”

"American Promise"
"The Healer"
"My People"
"Soldier 7"
"The Cell"
"Love Me"
"Don’t Be Long"
"Hot Slow Jam"
"Jump Up in the Air"
"Loretta Brown"
"Dirty Dirty"
"The Healer Outro"


Comments are closed.