Madlib Leaves Hip-Hop, Goes Jazzy

14 years ago view-show 610,434

By Quibian Salazar-Moreno

      Producer extraordinaire Madlib is known for providing banging beats for the likes the Alkaholiks, Loot Pack, De La Soul, Aceyalone and collaboration projects with MF Doom as Mad Villain, J Dilla as Jaylib, and more recently Talib Kweli for the “Liberation” album. But every now and then, Madlib leaves the hip-hop space to get a bit more creative and creates his own bands. His project, Yesterday’s New Quintet featured five band members, that were all actually Madlib himself. Each band member released a solo album but now Madlib is taking it even further.

      The new Yesterdays New Quintet album, “Yesterdays Universe,” features 10 new groups and 15 new tracks. Of course, it’s easy to speculate that all of these groups were created by Madlib as the entire album was produced by him. The album features both cover songs as well as originals by groups and musicians you never heard except in Madlib’s world. Here’s the tracklisiting:


01.  Otis Jackson Jr Trio – Bitches Brew (M. Davis)
02. The Jahari Massamba Unit featuring Karriem Riggins Trio – Umoja (Unity)
03. Young Jazz Rebels – Slave Riot (D. Smith)
04. The Last Electro-Acoustic Space Jazz & Percussion Ensemble – One for the Monica Lingas Band
05. Kamala Walker and The Soul Tribe – Street Talkin’
06. The Jazzistics – Marcus, Martin & Malcolm
07. Suntouch – Two for Strata East
08. Sound Directions – She’s Gonna Stay
09. The Last Electro-Acoustic Space Jazz & Percussion Ensemble – Cold Nights And Rainy Days
10. Otis Jackson Jr Trio – Free Son
11. Jackson Conti – Barumba (L.Eca, Bebeto)
12. Ahmad Miller – Sunny C (California)
13. The Eddie Prince Fusion Band – Mtume’s Song
14. Yesterday’s Universe All Stars – Vibes from the Tribes Suite (For Phil)
15. Jackson Conti – Upa Neguinho