10/11 “New Music Friday”

3 years ago view-show 5,049

Featuring NBA YoungBoy, Jet Life, Lil Tjay, and more.

As we continue deeper into fall, the leaves are changing and the pumpkin lattes for the basic overflowing are overflowing, but the influx of fresh music keeps heating up. For today’s “New Music Friday,” we have an eclectic and deep slate of releases, featuring artists from Lil’ Kim to YoungBoy Never Broke Again — oh yeah, and Curren$y, Young Roddy, and Trademark have reunited, too.

Starting off today’s loaded “New Music Friday” is the misunderstood NOLA native, YoungBoy Never Broke Again with AI YoungBoy 2. The direct successor to the 2017 project, the new YoungBoy project finds our protagonist in a precarious position in his life, as he’s under house arrest for violating probation stemming from a 2016 arrest. Still allowed to record music from his home, YoungBoy has made lemonade out of lemons with AI YoungBoy 2.

Next up, the explosive Bronx upstart, Lil Tjay, comes through with his debut Columbia Records mixtape, True 2 Myself. Following his August-released EP, F.N, Tjay’s new project is his third release on the Sony Music subsidiary. True 2 Myself comes in at 17-tracks, and features fellow exciting burgeoning talent like Jay Critch and Rileyy Lanez; it also features industry mainstays Lil Baby, Lil Durk, and the one and only, Lil Wayne.

Staying in New York, but attacking hip-hop from a more classic perspective, Casanova delivers his debut studio album, Behind These Scars. A story fraught with emotional turbulence, the 32-year-old rapper cathartically distills his pain on wax through the albums’ 10-tracks. Reflecting his place in hip-hop, acting as a bridge between old school and new, Cas is joined by a diverse collection of artists, including: Fabolous, Young Thug, Gunna, Jeremih, and more. 

It’s a big music day for the Big Apple. Not only have Lil Tjay and Casanova dropped projects, but one of hip-hop’s original queens is back: Lil’ Kim comes through with her new project, 9(Nine). Just because Kim is a product of ‘90s rap, doesn’t mean that she’s relegated to exclusively making music in this mold. On her new album, Lil’ Kim is joined by Rich The Kid, Rick Ross, OT Genasis, City Girls, and Musiq Souldchild.

Last, but certainly not least, the Jet Life crew — comprised of Curren$y, Young Roddy, and Trademark — has reunited on the highly-anticipated Plan of Attack. Released through Babygrande Records, the new album from NOLA’s trio is a 12-track offering that reflects the collective’s palpable chemistry. The record features production from Cookin Soul, as well. 

Check out all of the new drops below: