8/9 “New Music Friday”

3 years ago view-show 2,970

Featuring Rick Ross, Trippie Redd, Bon Iver, Blueface, and more.

The planets have aligned — it is a special “New Music Friday.” While each week’s edition is unique in its own right, few have quelled anticipation as much as today’s — the star power of today’s musical influx is staggering. Rick Ross, Trippie Redd, Ugly God, Bon Iver, Dom Kennedy, Blueface, Lil Tjay, and Bas have all come through with new projects.

Rick Ross kicks things off with his long-awaited official debut album sequel, Port of Miami 2. A 15-track album, spanning 66-minutes, the new Rozay album comes correct with a further look into the Miami-bred rapper’s past life and current success. Featuring fellow MMG artists — like Meek Mill, Gunplay, and Wale — and other stars — like Swizz Beatz, Dej Loaf, the late Nipsey Hussle, Teyana Taylor, Jeezy, A Boogie, and more — Port of Miami 2 functions as a “who’s who” affair.

Next, we have Trippie Redd’s new album, !. The successor to his 2018-released Life’s A Trip, the new Trippie endeavor continues his foray into genre-blending music, citing as much influence from hip-hop as he does experimental music. ! comes in at 14-tracks, and features Playboi Carti, The Game, Lil Baby, Lil Duke, and Trippie’s girlfriend, Coi Leray. 

Following Trippie is one of hip-hop’s more unique characters — and accompanying unique storyline — in Ugly God’s official debut LP, Bumps & Bruises. An apt title given his mercurial release strategy, one plagued by delays and doubt, the once promising rapper finally makes good on his Asylum Records rookie release. This marks his second official project, following the 2017-released The Booty Tape; he also released a 2018 EP, just a lil something before the album…

Justin Veron and Bon Iver have also thrown their hats into the “New Music Friday” ring with i,i — an eclectic and eccentric manifestation of their unique aesthetic. 

Rounding out today’s releases are Dom Kennedy with the ensemble album, Opm Presents: Young Nation, Vol. 2, Blueface with Dirt Bag, Lil Tjay with F.N., and Bas with his EP, Spilled Milk 1.

Listen to every new release here: