Chance The Rapper Previews New Music

4 years ago view-show 3,778,236

And it’s very, very “Chancey”. 

As music fans, I think we’ve grown accustom to prolonged lapses in Chance The Rapper releases. While there was only a one-year gap between his rookie project, 10 Day, and his career-launching, critically acclaimed follow-up, Acid Rap, we waited over three-years to hear his third installment, Coloring Book. And I think at some level we were okay with it, knowing that he was working meticulously to perfect every conceivable angle to ensure proper representation of himself and his music. Given that it’s only been one-year since Coloring Book’s release, I haven’t started mentally preparing for any forthcoming Chance projects. But with a recent IG video, perhaps we should.

Chance took to his gram the other day to preview some new music. Rocking a baby blue Chicago Bulls bucket hat and matching crewneck sweatshirt, Chano vibed out to some very wavy, R&B, Chance-esque music, sampling The Gap Band’s “Outstanding” and Soul For Real’s “Everything I Do” to create upbeat production that supported on-brand Chance lyricism. Sporting his typical infectious smile, he sings, “I’m a little too young to be dreaming this much / I’m a little too dumb to be thinking this much / But it’s Chano, Mr. Number-one dub plate.”

Few artists can impart so much excitement solely based off of an Instagram clip. Chance The Rapper is one of them.

Watch Chano vibe and smile while debuting some new tunes below:

Mr. #1dubplate

A post shared by Chance The Rapper (@chancetherapper) on